Chicken Soup Day

Emmy & I are hanging low today. She had Baby Measels last week & I caught a cold over the weekend, which Em is now fighting.
The best cure? Chicken Soup with Cornbread.
I prefer making my soup (as opposed to canned) and I use short cuts resources to help cheat enhance the homemade taste.
  • Start with one diced onion, a cup of shredded carrot (or chopped) and about 3 ribs of sliced celery. I had some chopped green onion in the fridge, so I added that too.
  • Saute a few minutes in butter (I’m sure you could use margarine, but why you’d want to escapes me). You don’t want to brown them, just let them sweat a bit.
  • 4 handfuls of dehydrated vegetables.
  • A can of whole kernel corn.
  • 3 cans of chicken broth (or one of the 900 mL tetra packs). If you have some white wine, throw it in too!
  • Add 2 500 mL containers of your favourite vegetable soup. Today I used Knorr’s Yellow Soup (sweet corn, carrot and summer squash), sometimes I use the Butternut Squash soup.
  • Let simmer until the dehydrated vegetables have reconsituted – I usually bring it to a boil, and then simmer on low (2) for a good hour. Watch to make sure there’s enough liquid, add more broth/water/wine if need be.
  • 4 cooked chicken breasts (or what ever chicken you have left over, brown, white…). I had some leftover chicken in the fridge that was cooked in the slow cooker, so it has a more shredded consistency…yummy chicken in every bite.
  • Before serving, throw in some pasta. Today I used alphabet soup pasta. You don’t want to add it much before you’re ready to eat or the pasta will overcook & you’ll be left with mushy pasta bits in your soup.

 If you’d like cream soup, use a cream soup (mushroom, celery, etc.) in place of the vegetable soup. Or add heavy cream at the end of cooking.

DSC06486

Yummy Dehydrated Veggies

DSC06472

Chicken Soup!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

