White Chocolate Blueberry Pecan Mones

I love blueberries. They’re still in season so you should grab some before they’re gone! They’re so yummy pretty much any way you prepare them.

I’ve never made scones before. I don’t even know if these can be called Scones because I morphed about 5 recipes into what sounded good to me. I think I’m going to call them Mones (Muffin + Scones). If you can think of a better name, let me know.

Yield – should be 24, I got 33. Depends on how big you make them. You could also half this recipe & it would work.

  1. 4 cups all-purpose flour
  2. 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  3. 2 tablespoons baking powder
  4. 1/2 teaspoon salt (if you’re using salted butter, omit this)
  5. 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  6. 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  7. 1 cup pecans, chopped to your liking (or walnuts)
  8. 1 cup white chocolate (I used chunks, but chips would totally work)
  9. 2 cups fresh blueberries (if you use frozen, don’t thaw or your dough will be purple)
  10. 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick), frozen
  11. 1-1/2 cups half-and-half cream
  12. 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  13. 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). 
  • Whisk the 1st six ingredients together
  • Add nuts, chocolate and blueberries, tossing to coat in the dry ingredients.
  • Get the butter out of the freezer, and cut into thirds. Using a rotary cheese grater (works better than a regular grater), grate the butter into the dry mixture. Toss the butter curls with the dry mixture after each piece of butter. This seriously beats the hell out of cutting the butter into the dry ingredients, but you could do that too if you wanted to!
  • In separate bowl beat together cream, eggs and vanilla (I find it handy to use a measuring cup ’cause it has a spout to pour)
  • Slowly pour into dry ingredient/butter mixture in stages – you may not need all of the wet ingredients. Mix with your hands (don’t kneed) until the dough comes together – do not over handle, you want to keep the butter curls in tact as much as possible and keep the berries from popping.
  • Divide dough in quarters. On lightly floured board, shape each half into a 6-inch circle. Cut into 6 wedges. If you don’t have time to do this, you can drop round flatish balls onto your cookie sheet & it will work great too (this is how I got 33, they’re smaller than scones I guess).
  • Bake on ungreased sheet 20 minutes at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  •  

    Super yummy warm! Great with tea. I still have more blueberries to get through, so I’ll be doing another batch & freezing the dough for later. I did a raspberry batch (pics also below) and although they were okay, I prefer the blueberries. If you experiment, let me know!

    Stay tuned for my Blueberry Peach Pie with Blueberry Ice Cream post!

     

     

    Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
    3 thoughts on “White Chocolate Blueberry Pecan Mones

    1. sounds so good! what a creative combination. i’ve never done “serious” baking. i always get scared off by cutting or grating butter into stuff. i might try it as a muffin, though.

      1. Honestly, I hate cutting butter too. If you grate it with a cheese grater, it’s totally a no fail way to go!

    Leave a Reply

    