A New Dawn, A New Day.

Nope, not Michael Buble.

I should have known to turn to George! What was I thinking?

Today is going better. Granted, it’s just gone 11am, but that’s okay. So far, to soothe Jude, Emmy has flashed him (that’s my girl) and she’s now watching Hairspray (that’s my girl – any movie with this line “some of your personal stains require pounding with a rock” hits my top 5), dancing her buns off and giving me my Zac Efron fix. I’m drinking warmish coffee and getting a post done.

I don’t usually freak out – and although Alec assures me that the house isn’t that bad, I feel it is. So, I have come up with a plan. Garbage bags.

I can’t stay on top of laundry which tells me we have too many clothes. Time to thin them out and head to Goodwill.

Sort the clutter on top of the fridge, under the sinks and in the laundry room – with garbage bags. Clutter must die.

Sort the clutter in the pantry & put it out for the Food Drive on Saturday.

I think the pain radiating from my scalp is because my hair is too heavy….or I have a very confused STD. Along with my ass, everything else about me has gotten bigger. Attitude, responsiblity and hair. If you put a Debra Messing wig on a fat hairless cat, that’s basically me. What I lack in body hair, I make up for on my head (yes, that means I don’t shave my legs – well, only if I’m really bored. I do shave the pits but only because if I don’t, it looks like I have a retarded Chia-Pet in a head lock). Anyway, so my hair is big, curly and long (past shoulder blades). It looks fabulous the 2 or 3 times a month that I don’t have in a Mom-tail, but I think it’s time to bid adieu to the giant hair. I have trepidation about this because I so cannot do short hair, but I want something manageable and cute. If I do straight short, I look like I’ve had a KD Lang boot camp makeover and if I do curly and short, I look like a psychotic Ronald MacDonald. The only upside to short hair is that it will really piss off Statler who will need reassurance that I haven’t turned lesbian…oh how I wish I could pull off Ellen DeGeneres hair. I saw the end of Dancing With The Stars last night and loved Kelly Osbourne’s hair,we both have the chubby cheeks, but I think that ‘do would require maintenance. Alec will be sad to see the hair gone, but I can’t tell you the last time he pulled it during sex so I’m gonna chalk it up to one of those “use it or lose it” scenarios. I need some feedback before I book my girl Lisa for a cut…

6 thoughts on “A New Dawn, A New Day.

  1. I cut mine off exactly 2 weeks after Kooper was born and will never grow it back!! The only pain in the ass now is the fact that I have to find time to get it cut every 4-6 weeks…but it is 20 minutes TO MYSELF, he he:) It is sooo easy and requires only a good spray bottle, 5 minutes and some good hair wax. It looks even better when it hasn’t been washed in a few days, my favorite part. So I, obviously recommend the cut 🙂

    1. That’s where I am leaning! I would have no problem going for a cut every month-ish! I have to dye my hair anyhow (at home) and need 2 bottles, it’s just too much!

  2. I am going to play devil’s advocate AKA ANNOYING DOUCHE BAG.

    Wait until you are in a good mood to decide if the hair should go. I have already warned you with pictures of the horrors of perms! There are days where the mommy-tail gets annoying for me too, but the 2-3 times a year I go all out and curl it or really make it look awesome make it so worthwhile. (and no matter what anyone says, extensions look like shit, so those with natural long hair have something they worked long and hard for)

    Just my 2 cents 😉

    1. Dear Annoying Douche Bag (you know I love ya),

      I actually did end up getting a perm & it turned out amazing. However, my stylist is kick ass awesome, so I’m giving her the props.

      I would never, ever get extentions. Just couldn’t justify the time or money involved for not so great hair.

      I’m not going to do anything rash (been there, done that). I’ll talk to my stylist & get her opinions & keep my eye out for cute cuts that might look good. We’re getting portraits done soon so I’ll keep the long hair for that, but then I think it’s gotta go.

  3. Being myself of the round-cheeked variety, I suggest a cut that will accentuate your jawline and cheekbones. This can be a accomplished many ways, none of which I am even remotely qualified to comment on. You’re welcome to drive up and talk to my fabulous stylist, Tammy, whom I especially treasure for her understanding of curly/wavy hair and how to cut it.

    I loved having short hair, as it was ridiculously easy to wash and style, and made me feel really fashion-forward. It also made me miss having long hair to curl and toss around in the whole oh-this-old-thing-I-just-rolled-out-of-bed-sex-hair.

    I recommend many consultations with different stylists in order to establish a style that will make you feel good. Cutting it off is quick and easy, growing it back can feel like an eternity.

    1. I didn’t even think that a cut might make me LOOK more fashion conscience. That would be wicked.

      I kind of forget what sex is, so I don’t think I’ll miss the sex hair.

      It’s been 2 years since my last hack job (which wasn’t bad) but I have a WAY better stylist now who can manage taming Alec’s fur so I know she can cut curly no prob. I am going to start looking at different options for cuts I like though.

Leave a Reply

