It’s Over

There are some things that are just unexplainable, such as the sex appeal of Jeff Goldblum, but you stop trying to understand these things and come to a place of acceptance.

Today was such a day for me. I had groceries to buy and I took along my side kick, Miss Emmy for the ride. We had a blast – she got to drive in the shopping cart that looks like a car & I got to have a Venti Pumpkin Spice Latte (Safeway + Starbucks was Heaven for this mom who usually shops at Superstore!). We were having serious girl bonding time. She was wooing old men out of my way, I got to grab a big ass turkey and stock up on fresh cranberries.

Life was good.

Then we got in the car.

I turn on the radio and “Jenny (867-5309)” is on. I turn it up and Emmy and I are singing at the top of our lungs. I think, “man, my kid is so cool, I’m so lucky she’s mine”. Seriously, I did. The song ended, I cruise around the dial and stop on the lite station. WHAM!’s “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” is on. I keep singing and stop at the red light. I look behind me and see that Emmy is not singing. In fact, she’s just staring at me. I say “Come on, you know this one!” and she says, “I not singing, this song is very bad”.

That was the moment it was really over. I knew it would come, just didn’t expect it so soon!

I cemented my George freak flag in Mr. Belsheim’s homeroom class back in grade nine – “Listen Without Prejudice” had just come out & although at the time, I missed the pop sound which was “Faith”, there was something that clicked with me, that album and George. I poured over lyrics, trying to figure out why both sides of George’s bread was buttered while other kids listened to the Chili Peppers and Extreme. It is now in my top 5 life albums.

Never in those ninth grade moments would I have expected to be out-cooled by my three year old daughter twenty odd years later, but that day arrived. My days of being cool are over – they are in capable hands.

DSC07846

 

Oh yes, in case anyone needs to find me in December, I will be watching this and remembering the time George sweat on me.

One thought on “It’s Over

  1. I can’t believe I didn’t reply to this sooner! Ok, so we knew it would happen. To her credit ‘Wake me up before you go go’ isn’t his “coolest” work. She may never come around but it is your right and perogative as her mother to play George whenever you want even if it drives her nuts. Now that said, as soon as she turns 12, its her turn and unfortunately her turn lasts about 50 years.

Leave a Reply

