Love Me Some Cornbread!

Most Canadians celebrate Thanksgiving today, we are not most Canadians. We’re doing it tomorrow. Today is brunch – yum.

I posted a few Facebook updates regarding Cornbread stuffing & people keep asking for my cornbread recipe, so here she goes.

Preheat oven to 400F

  • 3/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup white sugar*
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

*You can use brown sugar but it will make your cornbread darker & heavier. Although I love brown sugar, for this recipe, I prefer white.

  1. Combine cornmeal & milk. Set aside for 10 minutes.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.
  3. Add egg and oil to the cornmeal mixture & mix well.
  4. Combine wet & dry ingredients – just until it’s combined. Overmixing will make your bread tough.

Before baking, you can sprinkle the tops with some Paprika or Dill (fresh looks really pretty). You can also add 1/2 of canned corn to the wet ingredients before mixing with dry, it’s yummy.

Fill 12 greased muffin pans 2/3 full & bake for 17 minutes.

Or pour in 9×9 pan & bake about 15-18 minutes, but turn oven down to 375F once you put the pan in. Check it after the 15 minute mark – when a toothpick comes out clean you’re good – my oven sucks, so your baking time might vary.

I also double this recipe & bake in a 9×13 pan for about 25 minutes, again, turning down to 375F when it goes in the oven.

After I read Maya Angelou’s Hallelujah! The Welcome Table, I began saving my bacon fat. I know you’re gasping right now, but it’s true & it’s scrumptiously divine. So if you do this, grease the pan with the bacon fat (instead of chemicals, like, Pam) and bake the same. It honestly gives the cornbread a great taste & the crispy corner pieces are heaven. If you don’t save your bacon fat, just grease like normal – it will still taste awesome!

I’ll be making my Cornbread Stuffing later today. I can’t remember what all I put in it, but I’ll write it down as I’m making it & post it later.

Leave a Reply

