I’m a Fatty & I’m Okay

It takes a lot to offend me. A lot.

You kind of have to have a thick skin when you surf a lot of blogs, newspapers & various celeb trashy sites. I’ve had a few magazine subscriptions over the years, there is some satisfaction in curling up with a mag and coffee once in a while. However, in our fast paced life, catching up online is usually the only thing I have time for. I don’t think I’m alone. Magazines are failing all over the place.

And I hope Marie Claire bites it next. The first issue was released in 1937 and they’re past their prime. It’s evident that all they care about is getting hits on their site. That has to be it – I can’t see why a logical thinking editor would ever publish this piece of garbage otherwise. To add insult to injury, Maura Kelly wrote it poorly. I can’t understand what they were thinking.

So anyway, yes, I think I’d be grossed out if I had to watch two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other … because I’d be grossed out if I had to watch them doing anything. To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room — just like I’d find it distressing if I saw a very drunk person stumbling across a bar or a heroine addict slumping in a chair.

The above statement nearly made me fall off my chair. Did she honestly compare a heavy person walking across the room to a person being drunk? For shame. Ms. Kelly claims to “not be a size-ist, but let’s see how that statement works when you insert a different type of person in her ever so eloquent statement.

To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very black person simply walk across a room.

To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very disabled person simply walk across a room.

To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very gay person simply walk across a room.

None of those statements are appropriate, but Maura seems to think that if you say the exact same thing about fat people then it’s perfectly appropriate. It actually hurts my heart that there are people out there who think this way. What I find more shocking is the ease at which such insensitivity is shared. I can’t understand why someone would write something so negative, targeting a specific group of people.

And yes, Maura, fat people can lose weight (thank goodness you gave the advice of a nutritionist – no one would have come to that on their own!), but I think the more important question is how can you cure intolerance? Shame on you. I pray that no little girl ever asks you about life because if this is what you think publicly, I am frightened by what might be secretly lurking in your brain.

Now, don’t go getting the wrong impression: I have a few friends who could be called plump.

Are you sure? I somehow doubt they’ll be returning your calls. I’m also surprised that you have room in your life for anything other than your ego.

When I clicked Maura’s bio I was expecting to see a drop dead gorgeous model. Hardly. She may be thin, but she’s no beauty queen. Sorry honey, but me & my curves could dance sexy circles around your bony cheekbones any day of the week. It’s so surprising she’s not been able to find lasting love. Come on my single guy friends…wouldn’t you just love to go out with a judgmental, overbearing, intolerant woman? What? No one? But, she’s thin!! Still no takers, huh? Can’t blame you.

On that note, I leave you with Katie Makkai who carries more eloquence than Ms. Kelly will ever capture.

10 thoughts on “I’m a Fatty & I’m Okay

  1. And her grammar is awful. “…heroine addict slumping in a chair.” Would that be someone who is addicted to leading ladies in adventure movies? This is a poorly written, poorly thought out article. I will be interested to see if MC posts an official response.

  2. I see that she did post an “update”, after the fact….and admitted that she has a personal history of anorexia and weight obsession. Um…..wow. Hardly an unbiased person to write an article about overweight people then, huh?

    I love it that “average-sized” people always say the same thing to overweight people – just eat less! Exercise! That’s like telling an anorexic to just eat a couple of sandwiches and it will all be okay.

    Ugh. Just when I think our society is making strides, I see crap like this.

    1. It totally inspired me to make fried peanut butter banana sandwiches for lunch.

      Oprah has put on a few lbs as of late. I wonder if Ms. Kelly would be so vehemently disgusted with Oprah?

      I honestly can’t believe Marie Claire hasn’t issued some sort of apology because Ms. Kelly’s was weak at best.

  3. I agree with you up to the point of this part:

    When I clicked Maura’s bio I was expecting to see a drop dead gorgeous model. Hardly. She may be thin, but she’s no beauty queen. Sorry honey, but me & my curves could dance sexy circles around your bony cheekbones any day of the week. It’s so surprising she’s not been able to find lasting love. Come on my single guy friends…wouldn’t you just love to go out with a judgmental, overbearing, intolerant woman? What? No one? But, she’s thin!! Still no takers, huh? Can’t blame you.

    I like your points about her article or blog post or whatever. But calling her names makes you no better than her. Instead of spreading the hate with return insults, why not have the compassion for her that she’ll see what she wrote (and thinks) is wrong and from there, change. That’s the best we can hope for.

    Well written blog post and I enjoyed the video at the end. 🙂

    1. I understand what you’re saying and I think you missed my point there.

      I’m not one to judge outward appearance, however, when a giant boulder shatters my glass house, you had better believe that I’ll be checking out the hand that threw it.

      And I disagree that I called her names, unless “bony cheekbones” is a new one. Judgmental, overbearing and intolerant? Those characteristics are clearly evident by her article – not my opinion.

Leave a Reply

